Rocky Ragusa's Speed Week column

The Fourth of July holiday has created a time crunch, so here is a look at what's ahead in area racing this week.
Thursday Racing
Macon Speedway
    The only 100-lap race on the DIRTcar Summer National’s take place on Thursday night. The 1/5-mile, dirt oval plays host to the 38th annual Herald and Review 100. Current Summer National point leader and hometown favorite Shannon Babb will be on the hunt for his sixth career Herald and Review trophy. The race will play $5,000 to the winner.
    Also on the program will be the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals with Mike Harrison and Kenny Wallace headlining the modified contingent. Rounding out the show will be the B-modified class. Hot laps will start at 6 p.m. and racing at 7.
    The track will return on Saturday night with the Raminator Monster Truck on the grounds. A full show will be featured with the sportsman class removing their tops for a 40-lap joust. Hot laps at 6 with racing at 7.
Friday Racing
Farmer City Raceway
    Baum Chevrolet-Buick will present the DIRTcar Summer National late models in a 50-lap, $10,000-to-win featured race. Brian Shirley, Ryan Unzicker and area favorite Jason Feger will among the drivers looking to stop Shannon Babb’s winning ways.
    The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals will attract many of the top drivers in the country. Jeffrey Ledford, McKay Wenger and Mike Chasteen Jr. will look to grab the $1,000 first-place check, but expect Mike McKinney, Ray Bollinger and Jeff Leka to also seek the prize. Pro late models and street stocks will take part in the night’s card. Hot laps at 6:30, followed by qualifying, and racing.
    Tanner English stopped at the track last Friday on his way to Pevely, Mo. The stopover proved to be successful as English took the late model race. McKay Wenger won his third straight modified feature, while AJ May (pro late model) and Jeremy Nichols (street stock) also carried the checkered flag.
Grundy County Speedway
    Located at the fairgrounds in Morris and one of two paved short tracks in the state, Grundy County Speedway will hold its Mid-Season Championship event in the four weekly divisions. Racing will start at 8 p.m.
Kankakee County Speedway
    A fireworks show, along with the Vintage Racing of Illinois Series will be part of Fan Appreciation Night at the track. Racing will be held in five divisions and will start at 7:30.
    Defending pro late model track champion Torin Mettile scored his third win of the year in the $750 special last week. Jason Hastings won his first feature of the year in the modified race, while former UMP National Street Stock champion Jerrad Krick won his second street stock race.
LaSalle Speedway
    Brian Shirley won the $5,000 DIRTcar Summer National race last Thursday, while Mike McKinney returned to his home track and claimed the $1,000-to-win Summit Racing Equipment Modified National race.
    The Illinois Valley IMCA Showdown for IMCA legal cars will be the next race on Aug. 3-4. The Derry Brothers Summer Series for late models will be the main event on Saturday’s program in a $2,000-to-win race.
Saturday Racing
Fairbury American Legion Speedway
    The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget League will headline Saturday’s program. Californian Ryan Robinson is the current point leader and will battle Tucker Klassmeyer, Logan Seavey and area drivers Zach Daum (Pocahontas) and Karter Sarff (Mason City).
    Sprint Cars return with the Wisconsin-based IRA Series co-sanctioning with the MOWA Winged Sprints in the co-feature. IRA pilots Scotty Thiel, Jeremy Schultz and Jake Blackhurst will challenge MOWA drivers Jacob Patton, Paul Nienhiser and Mike Terry Jr. for bragging rights.
    The weekly late model and modified classes will also be racing. Hot laps are at 6, followed by time trials and the racing action.
Peoria Speedway
    It will be Mid-Season Championship Night where there will be racing in six classes. Roger Rebholz (modified), Matt Shannon (late model), Josh McKenrick (crate modified), Randy Billingsley (street stock), David Lauritson (hornets) and Matt Murphy (steel block late model) are the current point leaders. Hot laps start at 5:30 and racing at 6.
    Current DIRTcar Summer National point standings through July 2:
    Shannon Babb 820; Brian Shirley 772; Billy Moyer 614; Jason Feger 602; Frank Heckenast Jr. 598; Rusty Schlenk 569; Gordy Gundaker 568; Nick Hoffman 549; Timothy Culp 475; Ryan Unzicker.
    Current Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals point standings through July 2:
    Mike McKinney (not given); Kenny Wallace 450; Ray Bollinger 425; Mike Harrison 425; Phil Dixon 414; Donovan Lodge 349; Kyle Hammer 279; Justin Johnson 257; Allen Weisser 244; Jeffrey Ledford (not given)